Christie Refiles Essex Judges Sans Cohen

By Matt Rooney | The Save Jersey Blog

essex countyNorth Jersey is one step closer to getting eight new Superior Court judges, Save Jerseyans, after Governor Chris Christie nominated the following eight individuals on Monday evening:

Stephanie Ann Mitterhoff (Westfield, Union)
Jeffrey B. Beacham (Short Hills, Essex)
Linda Lordi Cavanaugh (West Orange, Essex)
Neil N. Jasey (South Orange, Essex)
Marysol Rosero (Livingston, Essex)
Bahir Kamil (South Orange, Essex)
Richard T. Sules (West Orange, Essex)
Marcella Matos Wilson (West Caldwell, Essex)

Each nomination is subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.

Important background: the seven Essex names were previously put forth by the Governor before they were pulled, apparently part of an ongoing struggled between the Administration and Democrats over appointments in a county that’s 21 judges short. David Cohen of Berkeley Heights. David Cohen, Gov. Christie’s former director of employee relations, was the only name absent who was also on the original list; Senate Dems had delayed a vote on his nomination.