Desiderio, Pagliughi re-elected on the Jersey Cape

By Matt Rooney | The Save Jersey Blog

desoderioCape May County voters showed no signs of discontent with their local leadership at the polls on Tuesday, Save Jerseyans.

In the resort town of Sea Isle (and your Blogger-in-Chief’s second home), Mayor Leonard Desiderio was reelected with 480 votes along with Councilmen William Kehner (462 votes) and Frank Edwardi (499 votes).

“Lenny” (as he’s known to the locals) is also Vice Director of the county’s all-GOP freeholder board and is on the ballot for that seat this June and, preemptively, November.

The sole contested race of the day on the Jersey Cape transpired in neighboring Avalon where seasoned incumbents Richard Dean (329 votes) and Charles Covington (386 votes) decisively beat back a spirited challenge from local business owner James Lutz (204 votes). Mayor Martin Pagliughi (456 votes) was re-elected on an uncontested ballot.