LD7: Dewedoff Passes On N.J. Assembly Bid

Diane Allen‘s imminent retirement has turned New Jersey’s 7th Legislative District into a heavy favorite for a Democrat State Senate pick-up this year, Save Jerseyans, and one of the Burlco GOP’s preferred recruits to steal Democrat State Senator-in-waiting Troy Singleton‘s soon-to-be-vacated Assembly seat on the way out the door ultimately declined to file petitions on Monday.

Dana Dewedoff of Cinnaminson, a 20-something regular Young Republican face in Burlington County political circles and founder of the organization RISE for Women NJ, says the timing just wasn’t right.

“If public service is what you want to do, you should do it. I encourage young people to work in public services in order to give a helping hand to individuals and communities. One of my greatest passions is helping others, which is why making the decision to not run for State Assembly was a difficult choice. I am thankful to the county for considering me a formidable candidate in LD 7. “However, at this particular time, the day to day interactions in my current role as Founder and President of RISE For Women, is a more inspiring and deeply fulfilling way to give back to my community and women in need. Our organization is rapidly growing across the State, and I believe we will be the catalyst for a lot of change coming,” Dewedoff told Save Jersey, referring to her new non-profit aimed at empowering N.J. women.

Dewedoff apparently had the county screening committee’s blessing but declined to proceed with a run this June.

Instead, Burlington County Republicans are fielding Octavia Scott of Roebling and Mike Piper of Delran for Assembly. Attorney Rob Prisco is the GOP’s State Senate candidate.

New Jersey’s 7th Legislative District is completely contained in Burlington County, encompassing the socio-economically and ethnically diverse municipalities of Beverly City, Bordentown City, Bordentown Township, Burlington City, Burlington Township, Cinnaminson Township, Delanco Township, Delran Township, Edgewater Park Township, Fieldsboro Borough, Florence Township, Moorestown Township, Mount Laurel Township, Palmyra Borough, Riverside Township, Riverton Borough and Willingboro Township.