Ghione Pledges New Direction for New Jersey Young Republicans

The New Jersey Young Republican Federation has a new leader.

On Saturday, Bergen County Republican Organization’s Executive Director Giancarlo Ghione won a nearly 2-1 victory after a late entry into the race just four days before the convention.

Ghione told Save Jersey on Wednesday that his primary goal is to retool the New Jersey YRs’ focus as an organization, from what he viewed as a largely social organization into a fundraising and campaigning force.

“Over the past few years the New Jersey Young Republican Federation used their money to send people to the National Convention or to pick up tabs for meetings,” explained Ghione. “This needs to and will change.  Focusing on growing the Party, raising money and GOTV is the new direction we will are heading. The Democrats are going to take note when they see a boost in membership of the NJYRF.  There is no reason we cannot do this, and we will do this.  I was a part of doing it in Bergen and cannot wait to help the whole state do the same.”

Ghione was endorsed by and continues to work closely with New Jersey Chair of Chairs Jose Arango who has promised to help beef up the bona fides of the organization; it’s been reported by other news sites that Arango may be line for the NJGOP Chairman position should Kim Guadagno win the gubernatorial primary on June 6th. Ghione also enjoys a close relationship with Assemblyman Ciattarelli which his allies say puts the NJYRF on strong footing for the organization no matter who wins the primary.

“Our Organization should not just be about work.  There is a comradery we share, and when we have events to show the fun we have when more likeminded people will come,” he added. “On that note, I hope to see you at our masquerade party in upcoming months.”

The rest of the Executive Board is rounded out as follows:

Chairman                                 Carlo Ghione (Bergen)

Vice-Chair                               JD Bryden (Union)

Treasurer                                 Evan Lazerowitz (Hudson)

Secretary                                 Monica Darko (Essex)

Northeast                                Josh Einsten (Hudson)

Southeast                                Jennifer Collins (Monmouth)

Northwest                               Joe Morris (Morris)

Southwest                               Brandon Thompson (Burlington)

National Committeeman         Chris Di Piazza (Bergen)

National Committeewoman    Tia Fritz (Morris)

Executive Director*                John V. Kelly (Essex)

Club Counsel*                        Chris Corsini (Somerset)