N.J. Senate, Assembly committees vote to advance recreational weed

TRENTON, N.J. — New Jersey came one step closer to legalizing recreational weed on Monday following the passage of companion legislation through both legislative chambers’ respective committees.

In the Senate’s Budget and Appropriation Committee? Republicans Tony Bucco (R-25), Steve Oroho (R-24), Declan O’Scanlon (R-13), and Sam Thompson (R-12) all vote nay while politically potent Democrat Paul Sarlo and Republican Dawn Addiego (R-8) abstained.

On the Assembly side, Kevin Rooney (R-40), Hal Wirths (R-24), and Jay Webber (R-26) voted “no” while Ryan Peters (R-8) abstained.

The date for a final floor vote could be as early as December but legislative leaders have indicated that they need to reach an agreement with Governor Murphy who is less-than-pleased with the 12% sales tax rate (he wanted 25%).