Secrets Of The Italian Feast Of Seven Fishes

Secrets Of The Italian Feast Of Seven Fishes

By Dan Cirucci Dan Cirucci’s Blogspot

Seven FishesPeople always ask me about the Italian Feast of the Seven Fishes served on Christmas Eve.

So strong is this tradition that I can honestly say that in my lifetime I’ve never spent a Christmas Eve without a variety of fish dishes spread before me. This is a hallowed custom that is passed from one generation to another.

To begin with you must have seven fish selections on the table.

Why seven? Seven is a very important number. It stands for the seven sacraments of the Catholic Church. The seven days of creation. In Biblical numerology, seven is a number of perfection.

And fish is the featured dish because Italians have customarily abstained from eating meat on Christmas Eve. In fact, I do believe that for a long time the Catholic church prohibited the eating of meat the day before Christmas, This is the Christmas vigil.

There is no set menu for this feast.

But here are some of the fishes that are traditionally used: calamari (squid); scungilli [skuhn-GEE-lee] (conch); baccala [bah-kah-LAH] (dry, salt cod); shrimp; clams, usually served with pasta; mussels; snapper, trout, tuna or salmon.

We have adapted this menu over the years and updated it somewhat.

Continue Reading…

2 thoughts on “Secrets Of The Italian Feast Of Seven Fishes

Comments are closed.