Inside Scoop: The Leading Names to Replace Russo and Rumana

By The Staff | The Save Jersey Blog

Scott Rumana (center)
Scott Rumana (center)

Rumors are abound that both Assemblyman Scott Rumana and Assemblyman Dave Russo may trading in their legislative digs for judicial robes as early as next month, Save Jerseyans, an option available now that the Christie vs. Sweeney judicial cold war is finally over. 

Rumana, the Minority Whip, and Russo, one of the longest serving members of the assembly taking office 1990, hail from District 40 which encompasses the most heavily Republican portions of Bergen, a large swath of Passaic, a few towns in Morris and Cedar Grove, hometown of Senator O’Toole, in Essex. 

O’Toole has already announced he will not seek re-election in 2017, clearing the entire deck for the next election.

The early speculation is that Peter Murphy is pushing hard to get Passaic County Clerk Kristen Corrado as the senate candidate come 2017. 

For the assembly seats which will be vacated before that?  Sources expect the line to be given to Wyckoff Mayor Kevin Rooney and District 40 Chairman Chris DePhillips

The move has been widely expected since Rooney’s sudden 180 going from calling Bob Yudin “Stellato’s best asset” to becoming his biggest cheerleader.  If the special election were to occur after June when Yudin will may not be chairman, chances that either man receives the LD40 line dramatically decrease.

Other contenders for the seats when they become available include Franklin Lakes Mayor Frank Bivona, Wayne Mayor Chris Vergano, former Freeholder Todd Caliguire (of Ridgewood), and Waldwick Councilman Donald Sciolaro.


3 thoughts on “Inside Scoop: The Leading Names to Replace Russo and Rumana

  1. Screw Wayne, WYCKOFF is where the real power is. Not only do we get both Assembly seats, we really should take the Senate too. In the unfortunate event that Chairman Yudin is backstabbed out of the Chairmanship, I hope he follow through with a run for Senate.

Comments are closed.