Andy Kim breaks promise to NJ-03, votes for Nancy Pelosi

TRENTON, N.J. — U.S. Rep. Andy Kim (D, NJ-03) hasn’t been in Congress for a full day and he’s already breaking a key campaign promise. 

On Thursday, Kim (who defeat Tom MacArthur by a narrow margin in November) joined eight other N.J. member of the U.S. House of Representatives in voting FOR Nancy Pelosi to serve as House Speaker.

Kim voted against Pelosi during the preliminary vote (click here) last year but had previously called for “new leadership.”

Republicans nationally and here in New Jersey were quick to capitalize on Pelosi’s triumph.

“Today is the first of our Congressional delegation’s new term. The eleven Democrats representing New Jersey are now woven into an ultra liberal fabric that threatens our country’s recent progress and prosperity,” said NJGOP Chairman Doug Steinhardt. “As they have elected Nancy Pelosi Speaker they have elected leadership that stands for diminished quality heath-care, more burdensome taxes and regulations, and a careless apathy to border security.”

This isn’t Kim’s first big lie in his relatively short political career; he also continues to embellish his national security resume after the election.

Representatives Donald Norcross (D, NJ-01), Josh Gottheimer (D, NJ-05), Frank Pallone (D, NJ-06), Tom Malinowski (D, NJ-07), Albio Sires (D, N-08), Bill Pascrell, Jr. (D, NJ-09), Donald Payne, Jr. (D, NJ-10), and Bonnie Watson Coleman (D, NJ-12) all voted for Nancy Pelosi.

Mikie Sherrill (D, NJ-11) voted for someone else who wasn’t competitive; Jeff Van Drew (D, NJ-02) voted present (after attempting to vote “NO” which isn’t permitted by the rules).

Chris Smith — the last Republican representing New Jersey in Congress — voted for the new GOP minority leader.